Recovery Quote

Hazelden provides helpful quotes for people in addiction recovery. I’m a Nar-Anon member, but I find them quite often apt for abuse recovery.

Today’s thought from Hazelden is:

I’ve shut the door on yesterday,
And thrown the key away.
Tomorrow holds no fears for me,
Since I have found today.

— Vivian Yeiser Laramore

Feeling guilty or ashamed about the past – about what we did or did not do, about what happened to us, about who we were – can be our undoing. We must work long and hard in our recovery to work through these feelings, not to forget the past – for it informs all that we value in ourselves today – but to put the past into perspective.

After we’ve taken an inventory and grieved our losses we must forgive ourselves. In forgiving ourselves we can let go of the past and live in today.

With our program of recovery, looking back is not as frightening as it once was. And today we do not have to bear what we find alone.

A new year, a new life, can be ours. Love and friendship, support and spiritual growth are waiting for us today. Our yesterdays are over, and we can look to the future with joy and anticipation.

Today help me forgive myself for what’s past and learn to have faith in Your plan for me.

Today’s Gift daily emails are provided at no cost by the Hazelden Foundation and are sent only to those who sign up for them.
SUBSCRIPTION SERVICES:
For instructions on how to change your email address or take yourself off the mailing list go to
Maintaining your Today’s Gift subscription
or write to
todaysgift@hazelden.org
To sign up for Today’s Gift, visit:
http://www.hazelden.org/register

3 Comments

Filed under quote

3 responses to “Recovery Quote

  1. Stef

    Thank you for your words,
    They are helping my pain and my recovery.
    From Stef

  2. asrais

    Thanks Stef. I wish you well on your recovery. It’s not an easy path, but it’s well worth it in the end.

  3. Hi
    I have two blogs concerning my past and present experiences with addiction, recovery, bi-polar and add. these are true personal writing that are helping me find out who I am and may help other addict s in the process. My blog addresses are http://www.anaddictsinnerself.blogspot.com and http://www.dailymemoirstofindingmyinnerself.wordpress.com. I am looking for other blog authors to post comments and to subscribe to their blogs. Please let me know what you think.
    Tasiasmama

Leave a Reply

