Approval

I’m reading Bryon Katie’s book “I Need Your Love. Is that True?” I see how I strain to gain love and approval of people I admire. I go to lengths and mental exertion to impress people with how cool, suave, interesting, charming I am. I read these books about how to be less shy, as if I am wrong because I am shy or introverted. But, feeling the desire to impress earlier this week, I forced myself to just be myself, quiet, withdrawn, smiling. I feel let down, like I’m no one special. However, it’s not the depressed, embarrassed feeling that I’ve made an ass of myself trying show how special I am. It was just alright to feel love for another person, and to love myself for who I am.

Leave a comment

Filed under emotions, life

Leave a Reply

