Refilling my cup

I was talking to my mom the other night about being exhausted.

I have a great job that I love. But it leaves me utterly exhausted. Then I come home to my daughter and it’s not fair to her that I’m exhausted, so I play with her. Then get her ready for bed.

Then my partner still wants my attention. He wants to intimate. Every other day or every three days, hopefully, we are okay enough to enjoy that.

There is no energy left over to clean the house. None. The house is not disastorous. It’s messy, cluttered. That’s usual. I’d rather write than clean. But I’d like it to be cleaner.

Anyway, I was complaining about my lack of energy. My mom didn’t have any advice, she’s in the same boat. Except she’s fanatically clean and doesn’t have children, so her house is immaculate.

I remember a “friend” telling me once that it’s like being a juice jug. And throughout the day you pour a little bit of yourself and your energy out into others. At the end of the day you are empty and you have to refill yourself.

There are things that fill me up, like writing . But, I leave them to the end of the day. I have to find some things that fill me up that I can work into my day.

Michael Neil talked about this once in one of his podcasts, but since they are no longer free I can only listen to this week’s for free. And his tips are only free for four days, unless you sign up for the email and then you archive them forever.

I think it was making a list of things that make you happy or feed your spirit, in other words, fill you up. And making a point of doing them. He suggested it to a client who was a disbeliever, but when she did these things she had a better day.

I have to find some things I can do at work to fill me up. Any ideas when I get few breaks because of various reasons? I know it’s not fair, but it’s what it is until June.  Foot in the door the profession.

And don’t tell me to get up earlier to have some alone time to write. Not going to happen. The earlier I get up the unhappier I am.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

