The right way to do things

A lot of people I follow on Twitter are writers who talk about self-publishing and publishing and writing.

I followed a link the other day that talked about published (REAL) writers vs. unpublished ones.

Apparently I’m totally going about things the wrong way. I have a free blog I update infrequently. Also writing at night is bad. I should be getting up at 4 AM to write.

Of course, I’m not a real published author. I have a job and no big publishing agency is picking me up. Not that I want them to. Oh, I never published that post. Haha, another day then.

I hate reading all these buzz words. At least what I consider buzz words. Building a platform (sounds like a pedestal upon which to preach … just my thing). And a brand. Gotta have a brand now too.

The same blog as mentioned above had a post on how to write proper blog posts. I couldn’t tell if I was doing it right or not. The author cautioned against making titles TOO interesting. WTF is too interesting? Are my titles too interesting? Is that why no one is commenting?

And don’t write things too long. Nothing over 1000 words. I really don’t pay attention to word count. If I have something to say that takes over 1000 words, then I will write those 2000 words. And if you don’t want to read the whole damn thing, well that’s too bad. I needed all those words to get my point across. (Sometimes I later regret my point, as in the case of some stupid comments I made about the state of feminism and men … but ).

Small paragraphs are good as well.

Guess I lost you up there already.

No point in using the return button quite so often. Some of the great literary classics have long paragraphs. Anne of Green Gables talks in long monologues which lose my 7 year old, but is still beloved. If Internet readers are so easily distracted, that’s their problem. My blog is for me to express myself.

I don’t want to cater to a following. If you like or hate what I write, then comment and keep reading. Same thing on Facebook, Twitter and everywhere else online. I’m here for me. And I’m not ashamed to be selfish about it.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
6 Comments

Filed under culture, Feminism, life, mood, projects, rants, writing

6 responses to “The right way to do things

  1. Pingback: Blogging> Can Blogging Help You Get More Online Writing Jobs? | Blog Marketing | Blogging Money

  2. Pingback: National Organization of Women backs Net Neutrality | linkthe.com

  3. David Gillaspie

    I think you covered abouit everything I don’t do and don’t want to do. I’m a writer with work published in newspapers and a magazine. Never made a cent but apparently that’s what building a platform is. If I already had a platform I wouldn’t care about money because my platform could hold a bag of it.

    Do I want to know more about Search Engine Optimization? No. What my blog is worth? Huh uh. Do I want followers? Nope.

    My goal is doing a treatment on a subject that is original and compelling. Call it the Dave treatment. The question then wouldn’t be “how do you do something” but how did Dave screw it up. Thanks for the fresh air.

  4. Hi, I don’t think there’s a right or wrong way to do things on the net. Just be yourself and enjoy what you do.

  5. It’s nice to hear about your opinion. Just keep on writing. Keeping on will hone your skills and refine your patience. Don’t get discouraged when people criticize your work. I’m pretty sure you are successful in your own way.

    Sincerely,
    BookWhirl.com | You have the book…We have the Marketing Resources.

    Get more interesting tips and articles from Bookwhirl.com Facebook Fan Page, and learn more about the dynamics of marketing self-published books, Author Marketing Services, and Book Marketing Services.

  6. Pingback: Just Who Do You Think You Are? | Stephan Miller

Leave a Reply

