No NaNoWriMO

For the first time in about 4 years I’m not doing NaNoWriMo.

I am writing a new novel. I started it a few days ago after several months of plotting and replotting. I started it several times before this week, but threw it out as the characters and conflicts didn’t catch my fancy. I’m currently on version 4.5 I think or 4.7. I lost track because I stopped writing it down because it was changing so often.

Anyway, I thought about waiting til November 1 and writing it for NaNo.

But then I thought, I’m exhausted from work. I don’t always get to the computer (our fam. only has one computer). And pregnancy doesn’t always leave me wanting to be in a sitting position. I’m 15 weeks pregnant and have had 14 weeks of morning sickness so far- all day sickness there was no letting up until this past weekend.

Growing new bones and teeth and muscles and nerve cells is really exhausting. And my work is INSANE. I can’t even tell you. So writing isn’t exactly my priority these days.  I can’t see myself doing 2000 words a day every day. And I don’t want the pressure of it over me, because I know my past successes will make me push myself past what I’m capable of physically.

Failure is not an option when it comes to writing for me. Esp, NaNo.

Also, I don’t know if this story has 50,000 words in it. Second Chance Romance ended up gaining 10,000 words after NaNo. But, Summer Fling ended up being only a little over 40,000.

I’m trying not to let this be another flashback story like Second Chance. I didn’t want to do another story where the characters had old history. But, they forced me into it. Right now they are playing twenty questions at the bar. I have no idea where they are taking me, but I finally have characters who want a story. That’s good enough for me.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “No NaNoWriMO

  1. They sound like pretty valid reasons not to do and if your writing anyway it doesn’t really matter 🙂

    I myself am doing because I am pregnant but then I’m just stuck in the house – if I had to go to a job as well I think nano would be a no go.

    Hope that’s the end of the morning sickness

    Sarah

Leave a Reply

