Finding proof

When you are looking for something it seems to pop-up. It was there all along and you’d probably have seen it anyway, but you wouldn’t have noticed it. Like when you buy or decide to buy a certain make and model of car and suddenly, you see them everywhere.

I wrote about positive thinking and failure. Then I stumbled upon (not through Stumble Upon, but through Twitter and linking around, I don’t have the exact log) a video post from Ridiculously Extraordinary about failure. Or rather, how there is no failure.

Watching it reinforced my own ideas. Having something not work out isn’t failure. There is no failure, if you use it as a learning step. If you use it to reframe your attempts. Also, there is no need to get things perfect.

What’s perfect anyway?

I have this desire to go back and re-edit Second Chance Romance and Summer Fling. Most second Chance because I love it so much and I know it can be better. I can’t even look at the copy that my mom has because I start making notes.

I haven’t done so yet. I need to finish Corey’s story first and then maybe. Then again, no. No. NO!

It’s not perfect, but that’s okay. It was my first attempt and I succeeded I finished the story. It could be better. A lot of things could, but it is good enough. I learned a lot from that book and no one has asked for their money back or written to tell me how much I suck. Too me that’s something.

I’m going to leave Second Chance Romance as is. It is perfect as it is. I’m never going to have perfect grammar in my writing. Someday, maybe I’ll hire an editor. Or not.

Do I need to get publisher perfect? What makes that the ultimate goal? Newspapers, probably the most widely read medium, are written at a grade nine level.

I’m going to move on and make the next thing better and bigger. Not dwell on the past.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 Comments

Filed under anxiety, e-publish, electronic age, Fiction

3 responses to “Finding proof

  1. Hey Asrais!

    I’m glad my video could spur some new thoughts. 🙂

    And you’re dead one: no need to go back and edit your book. It may not be perfect, but it’s you, at the time of writing/release.

    Karol

    • asrais

      Thanks for commenting. Definetly right about moving on from what was written. The next stuff is going to be awesome!

  2. haha, I just realized I wrote and you’re dead one! Whoa, that’s scary.

    But you know I meant “you’re dead on.” 🙂

    Kick ass on the next stuff!

    Karol

Leave a Reply

