Books are dying

Kindle DX and Kindle 2
Image via Wikipedia

Publishers are choking the life out of them … at least for me. But that’s because I can’t afford a $10 book. The last new book that was purchased in this house was the last in the Sword of Truth series by Terry Goodkind.

I don’t understand people’s obsession with the Holy Printed Book.

Zoe Winters (okay, I admit to some hero worship with her) wrote a post about entitled Those who don’t think e-books will take over don’t have an e-reader. She was one of those “You will pry a printed book out of cold dead hands” and now she’s attached at the fingers to her kindle. I love my kobo (really great for crochet patterns btw).

Here’s a good quote:

“To publish a well-prepared unillustrated text, about $1500,” Hurley says. Technical or heavily illustrated texts can be more expensive to e-publish, but the cost is nevertheless drastically cheaper than a print version of the book.

People say the love the smell of paper. No they don’t. No one likes the smell of paper. It brings up some feelings I gues, but it’s not bread or chocolate.

“An eReader must also 1) connect to a huge eBook inventory with 2) good price and 3) easy downloading,” Lian advises. “Currently only Kindle and nook can provide all three.”

Yep. The Kobo is not user friendly for the technologically challenged. My mom has recently mastered her mp3 player (well, mastered is a strong word), but I wouldn’t suggest the Kobo yet.

Blogs need to get portable so I can download them to my eReader and take them to my daughter’s karate. i don’t have a smartphone, because as stated in my last post, I won’t afford the luxury. I think they are overpriced. Also all the pdfs people give away will soon also be epubs. For now there is calibre.

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 Comments

Filed under culture, e-publish, eReader, link, personal, publishing, rants, writing

6 responses to “Books are dying

  1. Hey, thanks for the shout out! LOL @ no one loves the smell of paper. No they do not. If they say they do, they are smoking the crack. It stinks. I had bought the new Sookie Stackhouse book in hardcover (still haven’t read it) and it smells like a paper mill. Gross.

    I also don’t understand someone spending $1500 to publish a simple ebook. Maybe they’re talking about paying someone to format, paying someone to do the cover art, and paying someone to edit. That’s the only way I can come up with a figure that high. I published Kept for under $70 including registering the copyright. But I was more DIY with it than some might want to be.

  2. Whilst I agree that new books are overpriced, I wouldn’t say that the printed word is dying as a result of this.

    I think the shift to readers could come over time, but for me at this moment in time, it just doesn’t feel natural to read at length in this way. And I can honestly say that I know of very few people who choose to read electronically, not as a matter of money, but because it just isn’t their preference.

    For me personally, I do enjoy the smell of a new book..it’s one of life’s hidden pleasures! 🙂

  3. asrais

    @ZoeWinters I think that’s for a small press book. But no where near what a big publisher says it costs. Even if does cost $1500 it doesn’t justify charging $10 for a book.

    @Thim Olsson. It is way more comfortable to read an e-book. I can hold it in one hand (tho I wish the Kobo had it’s button in the middle rather than on the right so I could use it easier with my left hand).
    Now that it’s summer and we have fans all over the place, my e-book pages dont’ flip over when I’m not holding them. I never wreck pages due to flipping the book over to keep my place. I never have to search for a piece of paper to jam between the pages. And my book never closes and annoys me so I can’t find my page.

    Anyone who says they prefer books doesn’t have an e-reader. It is exactly like a book except for the stuff above and lack of smell. I’ll get over that.

    It’s a good thing I don’t have a kindle with all it’s highlighting, wireless technology. My Kobo just reads. *pets it gently* I will post pictures tomorrow.

  4. asrais

    Oh here is an agent break down of a traditionally published book.

    http://cba-ramblings.blogspot.com/2008/02/how-much-does-it-cost-to-publish-book.html

    5,000 for editing. that’s like … a lot of hours of editing. another 3-5,000 for cover design. Konrath says he pays a few hundred I believe. Correct me if I’m wrong.

    My mind boggles … comments are good too.

  5. LOL $5,000 for editing? They are getting screwed. Or else they are paying for a NY editor’s high cost of living. And who made them live in NYC? Dude. My mind boggles too.

  6. You can switch back and forth between reading and listening, and your spot is automatically saved. Pages automatically turn while the content is being read, so you can listen hands-free. You can choose from both male and female voices which can be sped up or slowed down to suit your preference. In the middle of a great book or article but have to jump in the car? Simply turn on Text-to-Speech and listen on the go.

Leave a Reply

