Learning curve

I was reading a blog about why people hate self-published and indie published. I learned there is a belief that they are no interchangeable. Indie= small press. Self is DIY.

Also, a lot of people believe self-published authors think their stuff is the greatest and can’t see their own flaws and overestimate their abilities.

I know that my stuff isn’t perfect. I’m unsure how bad, because I can’t go back and read it without wanting to do a full-scale edit. Which, maybe, I should do.

Sometimes when I read stuff like this I get anxious about my work. I shouldn’t even have my stuff out there because it’s not as good as gold. I need to pay an editor or I should not show anyone but I should be submitting it to people.

Then I log into Amazon to delete my works and find that: I sold 5 copies of Second Chance Romance and 5 copies of Summer Fling on Amazon in August.

Not huge numbers, but this is a book many people would say “should never see the light of day.”

I’m glad there are readers out there willing to take a chance on us non-publisher vetted writers.

Say what you want about my spelling and grammar (tho, spell check- how any self-published book gets out with spelling errors is odd- spell check is your friend. Tho I did once accidentally release a non-spell checked version of Colours of the Rain and didn’t notice for a few days). Where was I? My grammar might be off, but my storytelling is solid.

I keep futzing with the cover of Second Chance. I now have this vision of a heart-puck sailing for a goalie with green eyes. But I don’t have the skills to pull it off. I consider hiring a graphic designer to do my cover. But then I’d feel bad for the inside of the book and want an editor.

So I think my plan is to have a separate accounting of the pittance I make for my books and when I get some monies saved up, (I’m not working and writing is just my hobby not paying de bills), then hire someone. Not sure if for past works or upcoming works. We will see.

But either way, still waiting for complaints. Or reviews. I think they call them reviews.

So, I always manage to talk myself down from the anxiety and tell myself that I just want to be read. I don’t need to make money from it. The future is not now.

I’m doing this my way.

Okay, I’m stepping away from the delete button.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a comment

Filed under anger, anxiety, Blogroll, culture, e-publish, editing, emotions, independent, life, mood, My fiction, personal, questions, rants, reading, writing

Leave a Reply

