Back to good

My Kobo is working again. Inexplicably it just turned on 48 hours after it started doing the cycles of reboots. No idea.

 

But that’s not what I wanted to discuss.

I haven’t been writing a whole lot lately. And then we got a cold and my husband sprained his shoulder and I’ve taken it easy for the last few days, reading The Purpose of your Life by Carol Adrienne.

There’s a really good chapter or so about intention and positive thinking.

Now, positive thinking and intention got a lot of press a few years ago with the Secret etc.

But, in this case it’s not setting your mind on an amount of money you want to make, or anything tangible.

It’s setting your intention for HOW you want to FEEL.

And it was like a metaphysical slap upside my head.

I’ve focused on sales in the past few weeks, and writing the next book so I have something more for sale and if I should raise my prices from free to .99 for short stories and my novels to 2.99 etc. I blame Zoe Winters for all  her press about .99 vs. 2.99.

And it’s making my creative life feel really shitty.

Do I write for the money? Well, no. I’d love to make my living at this, but I would rather share my words on the cheap and have a day job.

I want to love writing again. I don’t want to worry about profits and making my living from this. It’s my hobby for now. I do dream of making it big like Amanda Hocking. But, now, I just want to love writing.

So I’m focusing on that.

In good news I may have sold 50 books on Amazon in March. I sold 15 in February, so I’m hoping I’m picking up speed. The more stuff I get out there the better it will get.

I love writing and I would do it if no one paid me. It really never has to be my full-time job, because I love working where I did (before I became a mom) and full expect to return to work in the next 5 years.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a comment

Filed under culture, independent, life, random, rants, reading, thoughts, writing

Leave a Reply

